Unsafe Structures on the Beach

Unsafe structures could refer to illegal or damaged physical structures due to flooding and storm events, erosion, pollution and spills.

Report unsafe structures to the respective Local Municipalities (see District Municipalities/ Metropolitan: King CetshwayoiLembe, eThekwini, Ugu.

Report to EDTEA for escalation to DEA.

The power to issue a repair or removal notice may only be delegated to an official in the Department of Environmental Affairs, while the MEC may sub-delegate his or her power to a municipality in that province.

 

A written repair or removal notice may be issued by the Minister or MEC to any person responsible for the development of a structure in the coastal zone that is having or is likely to have an adverse impact on the coastal environment; or if it has been erected, constructed or upgraded unlawfully, is inappropriately located, abandoned or its construction contravenes the ICM Act or other law.

 Who to contact?
 Organization Name
Telephone  Email
EDTEA
Alfred Matsheke 033 8979208  alfred.matsheke@kznedtea.gov.za
Omar Parak  033 897 9216  omar.parak@kznedtea.gov.za
District EDTEA Offices uMkhanyakude 035 550 0210   
Siphosakhe Xulu
King Cetshwayo
035 780 6700  Siphosakhe.xulu@kznedtea.gov.za 
Nombulelo Zungu
iLembe
032 437 7500  nombulelo.zungu@kznedtea.gov.za
Vanessa Maclou
eThekwini
031 328 9300 vanessa.maclou@kznedtea.gov.za
Sabelo Ngcobo: 
Ugu
039 688 4941  sabelo.ngcobo@kznedtea.gov.za

Hotline for Tip-offs on Contraventions of Environmental Legislation Call: 0800 205 005