Department of Environmental Affairs

DEA Oceans and Coasts is the lead agency for coastal management in South Africa.

Lead Agency for Coastal Management in South Africa

National Department of Environmental Affairs: Oceans and Coasts

Deputy Director General: Judy Beaumont
Telephone:
Email: jbeaumont@environment.gov.za
Call Centre: 021 819 2493

Physical Address

Cnr, Steve Biko (previously Beatrix Street) and Soutpansberg Road 
Environmental House 
473 Steve Biko Street 
Arcadia 
Pretoria 
0083 


 The DEA Oceans and Coasts operates under 3 directorates:
Department Contact Telephone Email
Oceans and Coastal Research Ashley Naidoo 021 819 5001 anaidoo@environment.gov.za
Intergrated Coastal Management Vacant


Specialist Services Monitoring Lisolomzi Fikizolo 021 819 2575 lfikizolo@environment.gov.za

DEA  Directorate: Coastal Pollution
 Contact Telephone  Cellphone/ Email 
Yazeed Petersen: Director 021 819 2450 083 530 3127
Feroza Albertus-Stanley: CEO: Marine Pollution 021 819 2457 072 173 6234
Ulric Van Bloemestein : CEO: Marine Pollution 021 819 2456 084 421 6606
Natasha Baijnath- Pillay: CEO: Land based pollution  021 819 2409 nbpillay@environment.gov.za 

DEA   Legal Authorisations & Compliance Inspectorate 
 Contact  Telephone Email 
F. Craigie: Enforcement 012 399 9460 fcraigie@environment.gov.za
S. Bapela: Compliance 012 399 9422 sbapela@environment.gov.za
M. Dlulane: Compliance and Enforcement   mdlulane@environment.gov.za 

Department of Environmental Affairs